Bike GPS for MTB Purchase Help- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2009

Bike GPS for MTB Purchase Help

Hey Everyone,

So looks like the edge 530 is around the corner, and the 520 can be had for 200 on amazon. I like the Bolt as well, and even eyeing the 130 due to size and cost.

Aside from the typical tracking of my rides, I want to be able to ride new trails alone by inputting trailforks/mtbproject/kamoot routes and follow them. I DON'T need fancy features and even the 130 I think is all I need. Since I can get the 130 and 520 for the same price... is it dumb to get the 130? Like wise, for only 50 more I can get the bolt. $78 more I can get the 520 plus OR spend a little more and get the 530?

Decisions, decisions...

Bikesexual
    I went for the 520, its a $5 difference and you get more features. Not sure you can have TF on there, but I'm new to these little machines.
    Surly Krampus
    All City MMD
    Kona Unit

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    Nice. TF?

EDIT: sorry trailforks I assume you mean.

mtbr member
    The Garmin 130 is supposed to be pretty good but I couldn't see buying it for the same price that you could get a 520 for. I'd recommend checking out DC Rainmaker for the best in depth reviews. https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2019/04/...eview.html/amp

He gives good reviews on all the ones you mention and says the new 530 is the best yet. I don't use maps or route finding but for your purposes I'd check those features carefully.
    I brake for stinkbugs

since 4/10/2009
    at this point, the 520 plus is probably not worth that much more than the regular 520.