Trance X or Reign better all-mountain?- Mtbr.com

Feb 2008

Trance X or Reign better all-mountain?

First post to the forums...not a newb though. I have been out of the mountain bike scene for about 5+years and am a little out of the loop with the rapidly changing MTB's. It seems 6" of suspension travel is not just for the downhill guys anymore. I have many years bicycling experience and come from a motocross background and am looking for an all-mountain bike. I know Giant has managed to reduce the weight of both the TranceX and Reign for 2008, with the Reign losing nearly a 1.5lbs! Pricing is pretty similar between the two and I am having trouble deciding which way to go. As you know there are no real world test rides. I would just like to hear some thoughts on the subject. Thanks!

mtbr member
    depends on how big of drops you are planing on taking? I'd say anything over the 2-3 foot range I would go with the Reign.

Quack Attack
    All depends on the terrain you will be riding. Trance X will handle anything but the largest drops with ease. If you do any type of XC, go with the Trance X.
    2011 Ibis Mojo SL-R & 2008 Giant Trance X0

Feb 2008
    Well, really I will be riding varied terrain of all kinds, that's why I am looking for an all mountain bicycle. That being said I will not be "hucking" off rock faces or anything like that, and my riding will include some cross country too.

mtbr member
    Then a TranceX is it. Those few pounds on the Reign you will feel uphill. Downhill, the Trance is moto plush too.

Johny Sokko!
    The reign will feel a bit more solid as I have both bikes. As light as they have built the reign I would say go with it. The TX is one solid bike though and is just a bit lighter and nimbler (if that is a word). Just get a solid light wheelset and the rotaional weight will make the bike feel lighter.

-Fly you fools!-