mtbr member

Reign Rear Derailleur Noise

I took my 2005 Reign 1 on a nasty trail this weekend, and holy crap the rear derailleur was LOUD. I had to look back to make sure that it was still attached. How many of you have switched out Shimano XT rear derailleur, and what did you replace it with? Do Reign's come with a long cage derailleur, would switching it out with a medium or short change shimano help? Would moving to SRAM be the way to go? I don't have experience with SRAM, so would I have to buy new shifters as well?

Thanks in advance for the help.

mtbr member
    Rear derailer/chain slap on the Maestro bikes is pretty bad, that's for sure. Switching to a medium cage RD and shortening the chain will help a good bit (that's what I did on my Trance). As for going to SRAM their RD's are 'sposed to not move as much and hance keep chain tension better (but I have no experience with them, only sen a vid) and YES you would have to buy new shifters if you made the switch to SRAM RD.
    One day your life will flash before your eyes, will it be worth watching??

squish is good
    I'm thinking the same thing, I still have my XT but every time I ride it it pops and cracks, jumps gears no matter how I or my LBS adjusts it. I'm gonna look into a upgrade and probably a medium cage.

mtbr member
    At time of purchase i bought a SRAM X9 RD and shifter set and got them to swap it over before i picked up the bike. I had a SRAM x7 on my first bike and it was bulletproof.

Just wish SRAM would pick up their act and get a front derailer that we can use on the Reign.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004

I swapped the stock rapid-rise, or

whatever its called derailler with the regular rise LX off my old bike, removed a couple of links in the chain, and run a 36/22 2x9 drivetrain, and don't seem to have the racket you guys describe. Either that, or I just ride like a girl...
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    Dec 2003

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by Clutchman83