mtbr member

Reign 3 for DH Racing?

Hello all, I'm new to the Mtbr forum community. Anyways, I have been riding bikes, mountain and road, for the last 10 years, racing Sport class XC, Cat 4/5, and some triathlons. I'm in medical school and with little time to ride I sold my bikes. I just recently got a Reign 3 one month ago and started riding again.

As my last bike was a hardtail Stumpjumper, descending on the Reign is an eye-opening experience. The competitive bug is hitting again but now I want to try some downhill racing. I have no misconceptions about the Reign not being a DH bike but I was wondering if it would work for beginner class racing.

Does anyone out there race their Reign for DH? What would I need to change, if any, on my bike? Any tips for first time DH racers with good fitness and decent bike handling skills? I'm thinking about upgrading tires, brakes, and getting a chain guide system. Anything else? What about protective equipment? Any help is appreciated thanks.

Hafa Adai! (That's how we say it in Guam!)

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    You should try a couple of runs with the Reign, then rent a downhill bike for a day if you can. That should give you a good comparison.

I had a downhill rig then traded it in for a Reign2, and I definitely don't feel as confident on the Reign on a downhill course.

Don't get me wrong, the Reign is excellent when pointed downhill, especially for a bike you can pedal all day, but you probably want something beefier if you are going to start racing. Just my opinion, hope it helps.

squish is good
    My .02... If you are more about having a great experience than being the fastest, do it! I mean, it's better than a hardtail, you will probably learn alot, and if you like it, there are plenty of dedicated downhill bikes to carry those skills over to. I know some guys will say its like taking a knife, or more like an M16 to an elephant gun fight, but hey, it works so why not?

Motion activated