Old Giant Mountain Bike Questions?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2019

New question here. Old Giant Mountain Bike Questions?

Hello everyone,

I am new to mountain biking, and I like Bikes in general. I wanted to start with an older bike and work my way up to a better modern mountain bike. I want to get the basics down. I kind of want to work on some of the upgrade and repairs on my own. Anything complex I will go to the bike shop.So I have been watching a lot of YouTube videos from proper MTB channels. The problem with older bikes is limited parts and what you can do to them. I believe the bike I have is a 1997 Giant Iguana SE hardtail. I paid 100 bucks for it, and spend some money on local bike shop to get the front and rear derailleur replaced due to some issues with the old one. This bike feels solid, and I am not planning to do any crazy downhill or jumps with it. I am not sure of its capabilities. I see new bikes have 150MM travel and I think this bike has 68MM travel. I want to do some additional upgrades like Wheels, Hub, crankset, fork, Stem, and handlebar. I have been searching on Amazon, and I have found a few items that may or may not fit. My local bike shop helped me a little, but they are not sure as well. I was hoping someone can look at the photo and tell me if these parts I am listing here would work?

Thank you in advance. Sam

Fork 1
    Fork 2
    Headset
    Headset 2
    Stem
    Handlebar
    Crankset
    Crankset 2
    Crankset 3
    Bottom Bracket

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Old Giant Mountain Bike Questions?-b7u36ew090531.jpg  

mtbr member
    if the bike is functional I would not put any more money into that bike, ride it like it is, have fun and save any money you would spend towards a more modern bike if you feel like your getting into mountain biking. The bike is just way to outdated for any upgrades to make sense. The cost would not be worth the final product.

mtbr member
    Jun 2019