I work as a bike mechanic for a bike shop that carries Giant...what bike should I buy- Mtbr.com

Jul 2005

I work as a bike mechanic for a bike shop that carries Giant...what bike should I buy

First off I want to say high to everyone since this is my first post.

I have been a bike mechanic for pretty much the last 3 seasons during my time off from college. I basically got in the business because I needed a job one summer and my best friend was leaving his job at the bike shop so I took over for him, but I was never really into bikes before then.

Well for the past 3 years I didn't even own a bike, I basically just worked for the money, not so much because I was into bikes. But just last month I sold a lady a new hybrid and she wanted me to throw out her old bike. I thought to myself that it was going to be a 30 year old POS, but it ended up being a mint ~5 year old Specialized Crossroads...so I took it home.

So I have been biking around with the crossroads quite abit and I'm having alot of fun, plus it saves gas. I like to ride in the trails, but since my bike is a hybrid and a full rigid, it is not so comfortable off-road. I do however like the fact of how smooth the 700c wheels roll on the road.

Well so all this has gotten me interested in getting a new bike. From what I hear the prodeals through Giant are amazing so I should be able to get a very good bike for very cheap. I could probably just sell my current Crossroads for ~$100-$150 on ebay, and then use the money for a new Giant mountain bike. At our shop we deal A LOT with road bikes, but very little with mountain bikes so I need some help as to what would be good for me.