Crack in Trance Advanced Frame?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2016

Crack in Trance Advanced Frame?

Hi everyone. My Trance Advanced is my first carbon frame and I admit I am not too knowledgeable about carbon bikes. I have a strange line on the bend of the top tube (see image). I can feel it with my fingernail but I am not sure that it is a crack. I haven't had any significant crashes on the bike and I don't think it's impact-related as there are no impact marks or paint scuffs. Do you think this is a crack? My shop checked it out a few months ago and said it is not a crack but I am afraid it's getting worse. Thanks for any help!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Crack in Trance Advanced Frame?-img_20190118_145308.jpg  

mtbr member
    Looks like a crack to me, but I'm no carbon expert. Why not try another Giant dealer if there's another close enough by? Have you tried simply taping it lightly with the side of a coin to hear if there's a change in tone when you tap around/over it vs further up where the line isn't?
    One day your life will flash before your eyes, will it be worth watching??

Super Moderator SuperModerator
    Is your shop the Giant dealer you bought it from?

mtbr member
    Dec 2016
    Thanks for the responses. I'm going to try the coin trick. I think that's what my dealer did a few months ago and said he couldn't hear a difference in sound. The shop I brought it to have it checked out is the Giant dealer I bought it from.

From what you've said I don't know why the LBS hasn't opened a warranty case with Giant. Even if it's not cracked the paint split would still be a a manufacturing defect IMO.

The worst thing that can happen is that Giant deny the claim, best case is repair or replacement at their option.

Giant's the biggest bike company in the world and my local reps are stand up guys who 100% back product.

mtbr member
    Nov 2017
    I had a similar crack on my 2017 trance advance 2 and Giant replaced the frame.