2018 Trance 3 vs Scott Genius 750- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2018

2018 Trance 3 vs Scott Genius 750

Hi All,
    1st post. I've been riding a hardtail for a couple of years now mostly XC. I'm considering getting a trail bike to get more into small jumps, drops and varied riding and have arrived at a couple of competing models I like the look of: the Trance 3 and the Scott Genius 750.

My current one is a 2x10 26/38x11-36 with 27.5 wheels and I'm fairly happy with the ratio range. It has a Rockshox XC30 so I don't know much about bigger, more capable and adjustable air suspension.

The differences I note between the 2 are the Scott has their twin lock function, a 140 mm Rockshox Recon, SLX rear, 2x setup, 2.8" tires and 27.5/29 compatibility and the Giant has a 1x and 150mm Suntour Aion fork.

I'm leaning towards the Scott with the thought that it could be changed to a 1x later but if suspension is drastically different that might sway me back since that would be $$ to change. My bike also has narrow 2.1" tires so not sure if 2.8" is too much.

My head spins trying to work out what the Rockshox models even are and what features they have especially at the cheaper end. I didn't find a whole lot about the Suntour except 1 thread that mentioned in passing that it's quite good. Do the lower priced forks have the option of volume spacers I see referenced for adjustability if that matters?

Feel free to chime in your thoughts on the above and anything else that's relevant. I realise this is the Giant section but thought I might get more relevant feedback vs the General/All Mountain sections.

Interestingly I generally noticed in the past that the higher priced bikes tend to have the nicer colours too but these 2 appeal to me more than the $$$ models so I'm not complaining

mtbr member