2007 Giant Rainier, What would you upgrade first?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2007

2007 Giant Rainier, What would you upgrade first?

I am new to mt. biking. I am 5'9" 210lbs. I ride paved trails during the week, but pretty severe off road technical climbs, fast single track, trail type stuff on the weekends. What would you upgrade first on this bike?

msrp
    size M: 14", 16", 18", 20", 22" W: 12.5", 14", 16", 18"
    color M: Anthracite/Brushed W: Ice Blue/Brushed
    frame ALUXX SL butted aluminum
    fork Marzocchi MZ Race 100mm Travel w/lockout
    shifters Shimano Deore
    front derailleur Shimano Deore
    rear derailleur Shimano Deore
    brakes Avid BB5, mechanical
    brake levers Avid FR5
    cassette SRAM PG950 11-34, 9-speed
    chain Shimano HG53
    cranks TruVative ISO Flow 22/32/42T for Powerspline
    bb TruVative Powerspline
    rims WTB Dual Duty XC, 32H
    hubs Formula 32H Disc
    spokes Stainless steel 14G
    tires Kenda Blue Groove/Nevegal, 26x2.1
    handlebar Alloy, 31.8mm
    stem Alloy, 31.8mm M: 10 Rise W: 15 Rise
    seatpost Alloy 30.9x350
    saddle M: WTB Speed V W: WTB Speed She Comp
    pedals Alloy Platform
    extras chainguard

I AM I AM
    Me, I'm not used to having top of the line everything so I'd upgrade the stem / bar / post first, because if stock Giant brand stuff is anything like Specialized in house components then they will be really heavy. Although I just got a Giant Alias for my husband (Aussie) and the stock giant gear doesn't look that heavy.

Apart from that some big $$ will get you a better fork which is probably what can make one of the biggest differences apart from getting tires that suit your terrain / liking (maybe a pair of slicks for during the week for you). But then again if you're buying a new fork straight up you'd have to wonder why you purchased that model bike in the first place.

Just ride, the spec looks pretty decent to me (although I'm a sram fan these days).

mtbr member