Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Is a 16.5" NRS2 too small for me?

1K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  ducktape 
#1 ·
Hi,

I found a great deal on a 2002 NRS2 in great condition, but the frame size is 16.5". The bike is completely stock. I am 6" tall. Is the frame too small for me? What if I raise up the seat? What are the dangers of riding too small of a frame?

I appreciate it any help. I'm just getting into riding, so I'd like a good bike that can last me a while why I learn.

Thanks!

#2 ·
The small size NRS is recommended for people up to about 5ft9. At 6ft you're in medium and even possibly large territory. You would choose a medium if you like your bikes smaller or a large if you like it stretched out.

I would say that it would be too small, maybe not so much a seatpost issue but too short in the top tube. Easiest thing is to compare the TT length to your current bike.

I'm 5ft7 and ride a 16" Trance or 17" Alias, I probably wouln't want to go any smaller or bigger than that.

#3 ·
ducktape said:
The small size NRS is recommended for people up to about 5ft9. At 6ft you're in medium and even possibly large territory. You would choose a medium if you like your bikes smaller or a large if you like it stretched out.

I would say that it would be too small, maybe not so much a seatpost issue but too short in the top tube. Easiest thing is to compare the TT length to your current bike.

I'm 5ft7 and ride a 16" Trance or 17" Alias, I probably wouln't want to go any smaller or bigger than that.
AHHH, I just bought it an hour ago before I read your post!! Damn it, the guy said he had someone else interested and I need to make a decision. Man....

So, now I'm stuck with this bike. Would a taller stem help or just be a bandade to the problem? My inseam is about 32". What are the disadvantages of riding on a smaller frame?

#4 ·