Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2018

your thoughts on new geometry?

Hi, I will preface this by saying I am a beginner who has been riding for about a year. I love the sport and ride my local trails 3 times a week. I have a new school modern geometry enduro bike. I was wondering what everyone's thoughts are on the new geometry? While I find that the bike is super stable in straight line, I often find the bike "getting away" from me if that makes sense. Also weight shifting in the corners has to be done quite aggressively. I have noticed professional enduro racers often will size down on the new school bikes. I think Richie Rude rides a medium sb150 and Maes also rides a large at 6ft. I have also read from bike coach Lee Mccormack that the new school bikes are way too long for most riders and the trend will likely go back to not-so-long reaches. Anyhow was just wondering what others' thoughts and experiences were. For reference I am 5'6" with 29 in inseam and ride a s/m orbea rallon and ride pretty rocky steep trails.

Anytime. Anywhere.
    The Orbea is not very long compared to a lot of bikes out there. It is a a 150/160 29 with a slack head tube which makes it pretty stable, and you are still a beginner who is still developing skill. Have you trimmed the bars yet? They are 800mm stock and probably too wide. Take a skills clinic and work on cornering. I have been mountain biking over 30 years and am still working on my cornering.
    I got some bad ideas in my head.

mtbr member
    Oct 2015
    Low I like, long wheelbase I like (within reason), slack head angle I like, but long reach I'm not so keen on.

since 4/10/2009
    I have long arms, so I'm comfortable with somewhat longer reach than some. My wife, however, had to size down on her newest bike because she's the opposite of me. Shorter arms, so long reach bikes don't work for her.

It's all going to be pretty intensely personal.

Keep on Rockin...