XTR cranks won't spin after being torqued- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2013

XTR cranks won't spin after being torqued

Ok, so i bought a set of used xtr cranks off ebay and also a brand new bottom bracket. Upon their arrival i go in install them and after i torque it down to 45-55nm the crank arms don't spin anymore.

So i think i did something wrong and youtube a few videos and i don't see them doing anything different from what i am doing. Then i start thinking it is because i bought a used crankset, but it looks fine as far as i can tell, but i'm no expert.

Basically i'm stumped and i need some guidance or some advice. Anyone had this issue before? I am pretty new to working on bikes, but i am pretty handy with tools.

The joy of ski is Yours
    Quote Originally Posted by stryder508 View Post
    Ok, so i bought a set of used xtr cranks off ebay and also a brand new bottom bracket. Upon their arrival i go in install them and after i torque it down to 45-55nm the crank arms don't spin anymore.

So i think i did something wrong and youtube a few videos and i don't see them doing anything different from what i am doing. Then i start thinking it is because i bought a used crankset, but it looks fine as far as i can tell, but i'm no expert.

Basically i'm stumped and i need some guidance or some advice. Anyone had this issue before? I am pretty new to working on bikes, but i am pretty handy with tools.
    Simple-terms - you have to lessen the space it is that the BB is cinching ontop of. It may be too-many 2.5mm Washers, it may be as much as you have the frame-paint rolled over the facing of your BB.

Be sure you don't have a 68mm BB set up for your 73mm. The amount of washers in that common setup is unique to each. Otherwise, get your BB Shell as close to the needed measurement (68/73mm. Sure that XTR is not 83mm ready) and use the spec'd washers. Likely 2 on the R, & 1 on the L.
    I like Sand - I don't like Witches

mtbr member
    Mar 2013