Wrecked my teeth!!!!- Mtbr.com
    Mid-Level Functionary
    Aug 2004

Wrecked my teeth!!!!

First post on here guys. I came on looking for some info regarding full face or quasi full-face helmets.

I haven't been lurking long, so I am not sure whether or not this is an anti-XC forum or not, but here goes.

I enjoy going up more than downhill. I am in it for the exercise and sense of accomplishment, and I am 32. I just did a huge endo coming down the waterbars at Cowles Mountain here in San Diego, which is a pretty mild ride for me. We ride Noble, Anderson, Daley etc... and I had on a Bell X-Ray helmet.

Short version is, I ate a rock and broke my front tooth off. I trashed my face and have had to attend meetings (I am a business owner) all week looking like Cletus the slack jawed yokel. I am over it, and want some face protection.

I have seen partial reviews of the helmets. None seem to address my main concern, which is heat. Money is not an object. No helmet is going to do me any good sitting in my gear bag or on my backpack, and I ate it doing something pretty mundane, so I need it on all the time.

So here is my question... I am looking for a very well ventilated helmet that will allow me to climb with impunity wearing the helmet, and ride technical with more confidence. I have not seen a single full face in any of my LBS, so I need advice from you all regarding what works and what doesn't. I have looked online at the Giro Mad Max II, the Vigor Vamoose II, the 661 Full Bravo Carbon, the Troy Lee Design Daytona 2 Carbon, The Pryme AL, The Bell Bellistic, and the Met Parachute. Of them, the Met is most like what I was looking for I think, but also has the least availablilty as it isn't sold in America. The Bell "Switchblade" is not made anymore, but looked like it might be the ticket too.