mtbr member
    Feb 2017

What was your fastest sprint on an MTB?

I'm training for a mtb crit this coming Dec 8. I tried sprinting today and the fastest I could go was 50kph. Now I don't know if that's good enough to be called a sprint. My gear setup is sram gx eagle with 36t chainring. During my sprint attempts, I was on the smallest cog 10t and at 100rpm. I'm using a scott scale 950 with continental 2.0 racekings.

I couldn't find any resources online on how fast should a good sprint should be. I know guys on road bikes can go up to 60kph+. I just don't know if mtbs can go that fast too on a flat concrete road.

TIA. I'm new to MTBR so pardon if did anything wrong.

mbtr member
    Quote Originally Posted by yayannpaul View Post
    TIA. I'm new to MTBR so pardon if did anything wrong.
    Dude, it's mtbr, you've already screwed up. You posted in the wrong forum and your question is stupid. Your choice of equipment is stupid, and the race format you've chosen is stupid.

I can top out at a little over 40 km/h. (i can hold 54 for about a minute on my road bike) It seems like how fast you need to go is going to be largely determined by the fitness and bike set up of the other riders- mtb aero is total trash. Also being able to hold a higher top speed without any wheelsuckers might be pretty useful.

I think it will be fun to go in to your event without too many expectations and see how it plays out. The strategies and set up could be pretty unique, and most of us won't have any experience to draw on. I'm interested in the details of the race; gravel, road, dirt? Specialty bikes? What are the rules from some schulb showing up with an aero road bike? Or drop bars on a mtb?

Good luck!
    "Things that are complex are not useful, Things that are useful are simple."
    Mikhail Kalashnikov

mtbr member
    Feb 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by scottzg View Post