what to look for in clipless shoes- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2013

what to look for in clipless shoes

Folks,
    I am new to mountain biking but experienced at road riding and have been using clipless pedals on the road for years. I just bought a mountain bike and SPD pedals. I have ridden twice just platform pedals to get used to trail riding. I am ready to buy a pair of shoes, but don't know what to look for. What are the things I need to consider?
    Kevin

mtbr member
    Since you already have road shoes, you know that fit and comfort are key. How about checking to see if there is a mountain version of the road shoes you have, assuming you like your road shoes.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by bloodyknee View Post
    Since you already have road shoes, you know that fit and comfort are key. How about checking to see if there is a mountain version of the road shoes you have, assuming you like your road shoes.
    That's what I did. Like how my Mavic road shoes fit, so got Mavic mtn bike shoes which mimic the fit of my road versions.
    Salsa El Mariachi 29er
    Giant CFR Team Road Bike
    Kona Jake the Snake
    '03 Yz250
    '05 Ducati 749

Duck Fonald
    Sole stiffness, comfort, laces and Velcro, dirt-friendly colors, chunky sole for off-bike hiking, durability, eco-friendly, not tested on animals, warm/cool (according to your needs), no high heels, holes for studs if you need them, roomy toe box, Strava-friendly, bottle opener, pizza cutter and a magnetic freon distributor.
    tRump is SCUM.

Hogan Lake blog. A section of Hogan Lake trails here.

mtbr member
    stiff soles: there are some "mountain" cycling shoes that fit and flex more like sneakers and they are great if you plan on getting off the bike and walking around a lot, but stiff soles are more comfortable if you are going to spend most of your time just pedaling.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006