a very simple question- Mtbr.com
    the half breed devil

a very simple question

never mind the SRAM or drivetrain forums, this is where i'm comfortable.

i just got a bike that's all SRAM...i have no experience with SRAM and can't make heads or tails of the instructional PDF on their website.

there's no barrel adjustor on my SRAM X-9 rear derailleur; however, there is one on the X-5 shifter. from what i can decipher from the instructions, that barrel is where one makes simple adjustments to cable tension. clockwise for the small cogs, counter clockwise for the big ones.

please fill me in and thank you.

--mb

mtbr member
    Yes shifter barrels is where you tweak tension. Clockwise should decrease tension for any barrel, and CCW should tighten it, regardless of whether it's on the shifter or der, and regardless whether it's the front or back.

Bro Mountainbiker
    I do wish SRAM would put barrels on their derailleurs. That is all.
    Raised in a Chicken-Coop by Chickens

Trail Tire TV on blogger
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheepo5669 View Post
    ya.. it's the only beef i have with them.. but you can always put one of those inline do-hinkies from Jagwire on. been thinking about it.

I've come to discover i can adjust it better up front anyway as i do it while riding not on the stand any more. I find a hill (it's on my driveway ) and ride up and down it while testing and tweaking the tension. I've always found that the settings are slightly different with the bike on the stand than it is when there is pressure on the drivetrain... but ya, one out back would make initial setup much easier.