Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2018

Trail Right of Way Clashes and General Duechebag Riders

Last weekend I was riding with my brother on my local trail system, Ive been riding for 15 years and am familiar with yielding to uphill riders, my question for you all is this, am I totally off base thinking that on wider parts of the trail that is when its not single track, and two riders can easily pass by each other that pulling over to the far side of the trail and slowing to a crawl is an acceptable "form" of yielding to an uphill rider? Well I was doing exactly this and there were 3 riders coming uphill, and the first one I noticed was riding really close to me and I didn't realize it until after he did it, but he actually purposely clipped my bars and almost knocked me right off of my bike with his shoulder a he passed me. I said to him like "what the hell man" and the guy behind him said basically that I wasn't yielding and I could go F&#% myself. So I then realized that this was in essence a rolling mob/trail enforcer group. I can understand yielding frustrations, I myself have had many, many times with riders who on single track have come within inches of hitting me at full speed while I've been the one climbing and I will be the first to admit it can be frustrating as hell, especially when I'm rolling around on a nearly 5 figure bike that if someone damaged it Id flip out, however what these guys were doing I felt was completely wrong. The thing that really pisses me off is it was at the end of a nearly 3 hour ride, like 50 feet from the end of my ride, on a busy saturday and the trails were so packed that we had stopped already 10 times or so to yield to other riders which I believe is why I was using the rolling/pullover yield rather than the come to a complete stop put your foot down yield. I would love to hear your opinions on not only the proper yilding methods but also about these guys who take it upon themselves to police the trail using