Too much mountain biking?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Too much mountain biking?

I started riding mountain bikes again this year. With other exercise regimes l have read that you should not do it every day, that you need to give your body a rest, time to recover.
    Now, due to me being self employed l am able to go out on the bike pretty much every day.
    Do l need to take a break every few days and have a day off? I don't want to do myself an injury! I am fifty years old and while not overweight or particularly unfit, am aware of my age.
    What l will say is so far l have had no ill effects, and my wife says l have never looked better.

mtbr member
    You answered your own question. You have experienced no ill effects. A visit to your doctor is also a good idea. See what he/she thinks after a full exam.

I used to ride every day but I would mix it up. Faster flat riding on some days and technical climbing on others.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    I'm a couple of years behind but have noticed that riding hard more than two days in a row I'll start feeling run down. I can still ride but my legs feel weak and my heart seems to peg the redline much easier. Rest when your body tells you to you'll be fresher the next time out.

mtbr member
    Listen to you're body, it should tell you when to take a break. I ride 4 or 5 times a week and periodically I take a few days off to re-energize.

Fat-tired Roadie
    To my knowledge, no training plan ever recommends seven days a week. But many get to six. Don't increase your volume too rapidly. If you're not sore and you have a lot of energy, you're good to go.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

Hermit
    Quote Originally Posted by PdlPwr View Post