mtbr member
    May 2014

Slack head tube angle and handling?

I have a Soma B Side v3 with a headtube angle around 67-68 degrees. I have a Salsa Cromoto grande steel fork on it as well. I have been riding this bike for 2 years. I have always felt unsteady on tight single track and around obstacles such as bridge crossing or log rail type technical stuff. The steering has always felt just "unsteady" and it can be a little unnerving when approaching a ditch crossing or other obstacle that requires a steady straight wheel. I also notice that I tend to over shoot tight turns at speed frequently and end up brushing trees or in the grass before I get back on the track. I have always chalked this up to my inexperience and that may very well be what it is. But lately I noticed that when I ride on the city streets where I live, if I relax my hands on the bars and slightly "influence" them (if you know what I mean) the wheel wants to flop one way or the other pretty hard. It reminds me of sitting on a chopper with a raked fork and letting the bars go and the front wheel falls to the side. Obviously this is due to my extra relaxed HTA+ the fork rake. I think I am going to swap all my components over to a cheaper aluminum XC frame I got laying around with a 72 HTA and go try it. But I had to ask here.....Am I on the right track or should I just work on my skills more and quit blaming the frame? I am rockin 720 bars and an 80 mm stem in case anyone wonders.

mtbr member
    May 2016
    Slack usually feels more stable/slower steering.

Going steeper to like a 72 would be quick or "twitchy". The rigid fork may be to blame somewhat.
    Kind of hard to explain but have you ever heard or seen when someone is about to turn, lets say to the right, and they actually turn the bars left first?..followed by carving back to the right into the turn?
    That little trick kind of helps get the bike leaning the right way. I hope I made sense of that for you. It really does help.