should i take my bike apart and put it back together?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2007

should i take my bike apart and put it back together?

this winter when i can't ride??? what's the worst that can happen?

i'm a newb....or close to it..

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    If it ain't broke don't fix it!!!

If you are a noob I would not recommend it.

Now if it is a cheap bike and you want to get familiar with working on a bike go ahead, it's good way to learn.

mtbr member
    Feb 2005
    Sure if you have the time and feel like it, just be sure to have or be wary of all the tools you may need.

He, he he, he,.................................. (I'd love to be a fly on the wall for this one.)
    If you're not falling, then you're not riding fast enough!
    Specialized Epic Expert Evo
    Ibex Asta Pro SE & Giant XTC-2

Dec 2006
    If you want to learn how things on the bike are put together, go for it, but take a lot of care and make sure you know what you do to it. There's plenty of good resources out there to tell you what you're doing and what tools you'd need, such as parktool and sheldon brown.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    i mean if worse comes to worse i can just put it in a bag and take it to the LBS right haha

Dec 2006
    Assuming you put no excessive force into any of the parts, you could do that. If however you go overboard, and damage something, you'll have to buy replacements.

mtbr member
    Do it a part at a time. Try a front hub or a seat post clamp. A good way to keep your bike in condition is to do a more complete overhaul/clean etc on one part at a time and work through everything over time. Read up on a part you intend to work on and make sure you have the right tools and fluids (grease, loctite etc) before you start.
    Oh sh!+ just force upgraded to cat1. Now what?
    Best thing about an ultra marathon? I just get to ride my bike for X hours!

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    go for it, its not rocket science.

www.parktool.com