Newbie needs help fast- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2011

Newbie needs help fast

I'm new to mountain biking & i'm about to buy a new bike this week. The problem I have is I like to buy once, I know most folks upgrade constantly but I would like to buy the best I can now. The type of riding I will do will be paved road to rough trails. I have the opportunity to buy a new 2011 trek fuel ex7 full sus for $1860.00 out the door. This may be a little over kill for the type of riding I will do most of the time. The other bike I'm looking at is the cannondale trail sl2. It looks good & seems to have some nice components. I'm just not sure what to do so any help would be appreciated. Oh by the way, if this is in the wrong area please be gentle & nudge me in the right direction. Thanks.

REALLY?
    Go on ebay with that amount of money and buy yourself a sick VRC (vintage/retro/classic) bike, perhaps a Ritchey, Mountain Goat, Salsa, Bontrager ...this list could go on, generally, you get nicer parts on a used bike.
    DJ, "Because I'm sure the world need's more dudes stalking the woods stoned out of their mind carrying a deadly weapon."

mtbr member
    If you only have enough to buy one bike, take your time. Buyer's remorse sucks as I've been there. There are lots of great bikes out there at various price points. Check out different shops and different bikes. Just because it's on sale doesn't mean it's the bike for you.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    I was in a similar boat, wanted something that would last and I could grow with. I went with the fuel ex 8 and it's an amazing bike and I am more than happy with it. I'm sure the ex 7 is similar and you'd love it. Don't know much about the cannondale so can't comment on that.

Good luck with your decision

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstAscent View Post