mtbr member
    Jul 2018

New Member w/ new bike (Love it but it creaks) Chromag Wideangle

Hello- my name is Devin from Iowa- I spend a lot of time reading around here but this is my first time posting.

I recently purchased a Chromag SLX Spec. Wideangle from JensonUSA for general trail duties (mainly around the Midwest) and goofing around with the kids. About 20 miles on it so far.

Loving the bike but a couple creaks are bothering me. When I rock forward/rearward during a trackstand, I often get a creek that seems to be the rear brake pads shifting in the caliper. If really mash the brake lever it will not creak. I this normal on a new bike? Will it go away on its own?

Also; I'm running new Crank Brothers Stamp 2 pedals. Another creak during slow speed riding from the pedals or bottom bracket. I would love it to be silent. Would new pedals need greased?

Appreciate the help!

Thanks

mtbr member
    new pedals would need to be greased- the threads where they screw into the cranks, that is. if you installed them dry, take them back off immediately and grease them.

who assembled the bike? was the seatpost greased? where the bolts properly tightened to the appropriate torque? common sources of creaks that come to mind are:
    dry seatpost in frame
    dry bolt threads, especially pedals
    improperly treated and torqued threads- bottom bracket, cranks, chainrings, seatpost, seatpost clamp, pedals, etc.
    dry headset cup/bearing interface

is the bike creaking or are the brakes squeaking? if it's the latter, you need to center the caliper, true the rotors (they are not expected to be perfectly true right out of the box), face the brake posts, and bed-in (burn-in) the pads before a hard ride. if you already glazed the pads over because you ignored the bed-in procedure described in the brake manual, you need to remedy that.

all of the above are things that the mechanic who assembled the bike should have done.

Quote Originally Posted by fastkahrs View Post