new class of riding- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

new class of riding

I've got a friend, expert level mtbiker. Raced many DH events and local MX events, never any XC though. Anyway, I'm a beginner, started riding with him nearly a year ago. When we first went out on a ride together we started in an area new to him, but its close to home so since we've been riding out there off and on. We started out on normal trails, some single track, some jeep trails and fire roads. It's an OHV area so there's a lot of 4x4 and motorcycle trails. My friend quickly got bored with the same old loop and started making his own single track. I started following him and it's been great. Our single track isn't the kind of stuff motorcylcists would want to or could ride so they stay nice and clean for mtbs rather than getting all torn up. Recently, he's started out riding the unrideable. It's hard to explain without seeing it. It's all very slow, very technical riding, I've stopped following him because its more fun to ride a trail I can ride, than hike a section an try to follow him. Another friend refered to it as a goat trail, but there's really no trail where he's riding. Ya know, freeriding was invented by people looking for a more challenging line down a hill, but what do you call it when it's up a hill? Sorta like XC Free riding? It's brutal, off camber, huge rocks, soft soft dirt (off camber soft dirt), etc.. He rides it on a Blur, not some long legged beast. Sort of like a cross between trials and moutian biking and free riding. It can't be classified as trail riding because there's no trail there to follow. So, my question, is what would you call it? Oh, and BTW, of all the riders that have come on a ride with us, I ask them, you can ride your bike and follow me, or walk and follow him. At first I don't think they believe me, but after one lap (3 1/2 to 4 miles-ish) they believe.

Mar 2004

call it "why MTBs get banned"