Most stupid thing you've heard from someone behind the counter?- Mtbr.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Bicyclochondriac.
    Jan 2004

Most stupid thing you've heard from someone behind the counter?

LBS counter, that is. My appologies if this has aready been covered, as I have seen plenty of LBS rants here, but I'm thinking strictly of profound mis-information.

I should also say before I give my most recent account that I find the VAST majority of LBS folks very cool and knowlegable, and I appreciate what they are doing. But boy, they can sometimes get some real bozo's in there. And the worst offenders are (in my experience) not the young kids just learning the ropes. They will usually say when they don't know something (the responsible thing to do) or at worst give a blank stare. It's usually some older guy lecturing like he's some sort of guru and and assuming (because I'm on the other side of the counter) that I am a total newb. So here are mine (all are paraphrased)

"So, I'd get this (refering to a Specialized mtb tire) , because it's max pressure is 80psi as opposed to 65psi (the max for a Fire XC). The higher pressure will give you a better ride on the trail" ........ I could feel my filling rattling loose just thinking of it.

The next 5 happened yesterday in the same converstation yesterday from a guy who sells a lot of Santa Cruz stuff, including a lot of Hecklers with 5th coils on them. This was in an area where they sell a lot of mountain bikes. I asked about his impressions riding the new Blur and he gave this 20 minute lecture on how it worked and (incorrectly) explained my 5th element coil shock to me (completely unsolicited)

"the great thing about this design (the Blur) is that it is designed to work with a wide range of sag settings compared to most bikes"

Him: "No, your Pike won't work on a Nomad, because it is not a 20mm axle"
    Me: "Yes, it is"
    Him: "No, it's not"
    Me: "No, really, it is."