Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2005

Line Choice and Trail Impact

I bought a new frame yesterday. I've been riding a hand-me-down Peyto Wild Bill from 2002ish for the last 8 years. It finally cracked. I'll fix it, but the cost of stripping, repair, and refinish on such an old frame almost equals picking up a "New" old stock frame on closeout. I went with the budget Chromag.

On researching the frames I found at a price I was willing to spend, I came to a review with nice glossy photos and this one really bugged me. I build a lot of trail and get paid to work on some of my local trails. Anyone who is committed to this type of thing spends a lot of time fighting trail creep anywhere a root or rock starts to poke out of the tread.

It is astounding what riders will do to avoid a bump, a root, a rock. When I started riding the point was to ride over everything you could. Now....for many many riders....AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Why Mountain Bike? Why choose to ride off of a prepared surface? You're #ucking ruining it. Tight, twisty, featured trail. That is the ideal. Stay on the damn line. When I look at the picture below I see a really nice feature. On a nice steel frame I imagine a slight un-weight and feeling the pop of my back tire initiating a moment of flight. An instant of float as my tire traces over the surface with as light a touch as a painters brush....a surgeon's scalpel...like the tip of a finger reading poetry in braille.

Instead....They leave their mark in the fauna. They push the edge of the trail out. They widen the track into some blown-out whore-version of what once was a tight, magical ribbon of virgin delight... calling us deeper into the lush, loamy forest where anything might happen.

WTF?

Please consider that our trails die by a thousand cuts. Every rider choosing the path of mediocrity, of stasis, holding on to a lack of skill and therefore an abandonment of personal progression.