I need some good advice- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2012

I need some good advice

I'm new to mountain biking, and I'm about to buy my first bike. I have narrowed it down to two bikes (same type, different model) and I need some opinions.

The bikes are as follows:

Revel 0: Revel 0 (2012) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | United States

Revel 1: Revel 1 (Black/Blue) (2012) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | United States

Out of the two bikes, the Revel 1 is closer to my desired price range. However, if it means that I will have to upgrade components shortly (mainly considering the fork) due to lack of quality, the Revel 0 may be better for the long run.

What I'm asking from you guys is to analyze vital components of the two and send me in the right direction.

I will be using the bike as commuter from home to school and work, as well as taking it on single-track trails on my free time (considering I will be working and in school). The single tracks I'm researching are beginner/intermediate level, so that gives you an idea of what I'll encounter. As I gain experience, I will approach harsher trails.

Thanks for your time and consideration.

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    Honestly I'd go with the cheaper one. Neither is built up well and both will wear out pretty quick if you're doing a lot of cycling. You're probably going to have to replace parts as you go if this is what you can afford for now. So, I'd save the extra $190 if I were you. It'd be better if you could increase your budget. But if you can't go with the cheaper one.

TOP TIER LURKER
    Get the cheaper one. Neither bike has stellar components, but they are a good starting point. In fact, I like a few things more about the cheaper bike. In other words, you'd be replacing/upgrading components on the more expensive bike just as soon.
    life is... "All About Bikes"...

mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    Thanks for your opinions.