mtbr member
    Jul 2018

hydration pack advise for a noob! :)

Allo all! this may have been ask/answer a lot before... but i'm a noob into MTB, we (6 of my friends in mid 30's - 45) all started last summer and we all bought new bikes for trails, nothing hardcore mostly green/blue trails for now.. anyhow, i was curious what pack i should get? i'm 6' 270lbs and i sweat a lot.. gotta start get in shape somehow right? heh so we usually do 1.5 - 2hrs trails. i was checking amazon and saw some cheap brand like Teton sport oasis 1100... and other brand dirt cheap! also was looking into real brand like Osprey Raptor 10 etc.. just few question i was wondering myself.. do i need big or small? since never used that before. i wanna start getting tools/accessories, but wanna start with backpack

1- what should i look for? lots of mix reviews.. hard to guess (some reviews could get paid also)

2- cheap brands on amazon.. price is awesome but will they do the job? (breath/comfy/bladder etc..)

3- price range $200CND max

if any other advise, i'll be glad to hear from you!! i'm falling in love with this sport and my daughter(7yr old) came with me last 2 rides before winter and she loves it!! so this summer i plan riding almost every day or 2.. with the group & daughter once in a while!!

thanks in advance! happy holidays

cheers!

mtbr member
    Jul 2017
    I have 2 hydration packs. A small hip pack(Camelbak Repak LR4) with a 1.5 liter reservoir for after work and short rides. And a backpack(Mule LR 15) with a 3 liter reservoir for long days. I also carry a bottle but itís filled with hydration mix. Both are Camelbaks and are pretty good quality. Iíd avoid discount brands since they wonít last long in mountain biking. Youíre going to crash, get mud, dirt, and grime on them. My packs have been through everything Mother Nature can throw at me and they havenít broke yet.