How many years have you been riding and how many horses have you crashed into?- Mtbr.com
    mtb'er

How many years have you been riding and how many horses have you crashed into?

I'm looking for some honesty here. I read a drastic number of anecdotes from equestrians who claim a mountain biker (or three) crashed into them on a trail. I call BS. I've been riding for 30 years and haven't even come close to running into a horse (and I'm not always on official MUTs). But maybe my perspective is skewed and riders are definitely crashing into horses. I'm curious what MTBR community members have to say.

1. How many years have you been mountain biking?

2. How many times have you crashed into (or made physical contact) with a horse on a trail?

inebriate savant
    1. 15 years. (Damn, has it really been that long?)

2. Never. Never even had a truly bad encounter, to be honest. I did have some threaten to report me on an illegal trail that they were very obviously patrolling (and in all fairness, I should not have been on at 11am on a Sunday), but once I stopped and talked with them and offered to walk my bike back out the situation was defused.

To be fair, 95% of equestrians I personally have come across have been decent people. It's that huffy 5% that's the issue...which basically is the same as mountain bikers.
    Work smarter AND harder.

mtbr member
    Jul 2014
    25 years, no collisions or altercations with equestrians.

mtbr member
    Five years and one close call, about it

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk

WillWorkForTrail
    32 years, no horse collisions. I do know some Equestrians I wish would fall off (the face of the earth).

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    11 years / 0 horsie crashes

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

slow
    35 years mountain biking and no horse collisions.

I'm really diggin it!