hardtail or full suspension?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2004

hardtail or full suspension?

I am a beginner that rides on paved paths for the time being. I am looking for a new bike & every shop i go to says I should go with a hardtail since im a newbie. However I want a bike I can ride for a loooong rime. I like the comfortable ride of the full susp. that I have tried versus the hardtails.... but I understand that the full susp will not be as fast on the road sunce some of my energy is absorbed by the susp.

Is a full susp OK for me? what's the diff?

May 2004
    Hmmm... If you're mostly going to ride paved paths then I'd say there isn't going to be that much of a comfort difference between full susp and hardtail. Plop a nice, cushy saddle on that hardtail and it'd be pretty much similar. Even better you could buy a hardtail and get a thudbuster seatpost, which would all but eliminate any bumps you'd likely feel. I would only go full suspension if you plan to make trail riding a big part of your routine. But in the end, what it really comes down to is, Which bike will make you want to ride all the time?

6x7=Dont Panic!
    I would go with the hardtail. You can do what he said and get a cushy saddle, and if you want more mush, then get a suspension seatpost. Overall its cheeper, less maintinence, less $, and lighter.
    Herro prease

mtbr member
    Apr 2004

get whatever bike you like

the more you bike the better --- so pick the bike you like, whether it's the hardtail or full suspension or because you like the black one vs the red, or it's on sale, or whatever....

that said, if you mostly ride paved roads, as you get in better shape and go faster, you'll realize the full suspension is a waste in terms of weight and unused suspension. it's great for bumpy trails, in climbing and descending, but for smooth roads, the hardtail will be more efficient. i have both, and ride the hardtail more.