Front: Disc brake, Rear: V-brake, whats the plan?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2006

Front: Disc brake, Rear: V-brake, whats the plan?

Hey, im new to this forum and im also fairly new to MTB freeriding. I dont have a really big base on bikes but i want to learn.

My first question question is...

I've seem some bikes that had front disc brakes and rear v-brakes. I never understood why, maybe you guys can light me up on this?

i ride bikez!!11!
    Aug 2006
    Some frames don't have disc tabs on the rear, or since most braking is on the front wheel, the rider doesn't feel like they need a disc in the rear.

Derailleurless
    I did it for the same reason Dan stated -- no tabs on my frame. Ran Front Avid disc / rear V for a couple of seasons and loved it.

If you're riding in a relatively dry climate, this actually makes sense: braking performance is not affected, and cost and weight are saved.

I only switched to rear disc after I began building my own wheels, and looked at brake pads as graffiti on my (side) walls.

But otherwise, I'd happily run disc/V again.
    speedub.nate
    MTBR Hiatus UFN

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    Im asking this because i am considering maybe buying a Norco Havoc but the rear v-brake kinda turns me down as i usually brake with the rear brake.

As you can see in the picture below, there is taps for a rear disc brake.

My guess is that its probably just to lower the price a bit, makes sense?

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Yeah. If the rear hub is disc-combatible, going to a mech disc is easy enough, but if youre convinced you want F/R discs, Id look at something else.

That said, the front disc/rear V combo works quite well.

mtbr member