Flat handlebar vs riser handlebar- Mtbr.com

Feb 2004

Flat handlebar vs riser handlebar

I'm a bit of a newb with a 2002 Trek 4300, all stock right now.

Just wondering, what's the pros and cons of flat handlebars vs the "riser" style? I've got an opportunity to get some Ritchey components cheap, and am considering doing a bit of upgrading.

nachos rule!
    Jan 2004

for some it's all about fashion, for others it's all about fit

if you need more rise but don't want a spacer stack or a riser stem then obviously riser bars are the way to go. if you don't need more rise then go flat. form follows function.

back in the day the only really wide bars were risers, and seein' as how wider bars give you more steering leverage in a "freeride" situation (of course, we didn't call it that back then, it was all just riding) they developed their "tough guy" image. total bs, mind you. just as an example, a titec hellbent flattracker is going to be stronger (and lighter) than the equivalent width titec riser bar. basic materials science.

kinda funny when you look back. the original "built as such" mountain bikes had bull-moose bars, once more builders entered the fray the good bikes had bull-moose bars and the crappy bikes had risers. then flat bars supplanted bull-moose bars, so the good bikes had flat bars and the crappy bikes had risers. you'd swap out your risers as fast as you could if you wanted to be cool. then the flat bar was "dead" and most everybody had risers. then risers went back out of fashion and flat bars came back in (good thing some of us never switched). with the advent of "freeride" (hmmm, were we doing captive riding before?) flat bars went out of fashion again, and riser bars came back into fashion again...