mtbr member
    Dec 2018

Wink Direct Drive Trainer Question

Hi all,

Newbie here, thanks in advance for your help. I haven't seen this topic covered in depth since a 2017 post...if I missed something more current, please direct me.

I ride a 2017 Yeti SB5, Eagle XO, and this is my only bike. Looking to get a direct drive trainer.

My questions are as follows:

1. Which brands/products do you recommend that will accommodate an NX cassette and a 148mm thru axle? Wahoo said that officially, their Kickr products have not been tested with an NX cassette. Having trouble dropping the $ without having some better confirmation...my knowledge of freehubs and how all these things fit together is really limited. Separately, I am assuming I cannot use the included 11-sp cassette that comes with some of these trainers - is this accurate?

2. I'm looking at gently used products, so any folks who have experience using NX cassettes with earlier generation products (1-2 years old) would be really helpful.

3. What else should I know? No experience yet with Zwift or any of the other luxuries currently available with these products. Just willing to make the investment and again, want the direct drive.

Thanks in advance.

Never trust a fart
    I'd go with the Cycleops Hammer. Direct drive and accepts Shimano hub or the XD driver.

https://www.cycleops.com/product/h2

Includes a Shimano splined freehub for compatibility with Shimano 8-11 speed cassettes. XD freehubs are also available and sold separately

Give them a call.

EAT MORE GRIME
    if you cannot find something....

honestly I'd buy a used up, crap road bike if what you need is a direct drive stationary. you can get something good enough to use for that, on the cheap easily with some looking around craigslist

pain caves and torture tools don't need to look pretty, just your quads
    "Put your seatbelt back on or get out and sit in the middle of that circle of death." - Johnny Scoot

mtbr member
    Dec 2018