Clipless Pedals, knee pains, HELP!- Mtbr.com
    I'm in...
    Jan 2011

Clipless Pedals, knee pains, HELP!

xxxxxxxI’m about to drop so cash down on a bike fit, but before I do so, let me explain why I’m considering it and how many of you been through this?

I started riding clipless pedals about a year ago and I LOVE it. So much that I’ve spend hundreds of dollars in search of the perfect fit. I’ve tried Shimano’s, Crank Bros. Time ATACs, and Xpedo pedals. I’ve bought gadgets, had a bike shop fit my cleats, insoles, more float, less float, read books, lower cadence, ect., and I still get knee pains. WTF? Do you have to get that precise with the cleats? I’ve tried every possible angle and position with no success? Am I that F’d up with my biomechanics?

Before I drop over $250 and spend 2.5 hours of my weekend at a fit studio, I have 2 questions

Did you guys have this much issue with fitting your cleats?
    if you did have knee pains, did getting a pro fit eliminate the pain?

I’ve already spent so much money and getting this bike fit will bring me close to $1K just so I can ride clipless. I’m willing to do it but only if it works. Know what I mean? It’s not like you can go back and tell the shop, “yeah, it’s not working out and I want my money back”

Please don’t chime with “I ride flats with 510s and it feels like I’m clipped! “

So do I, but I prefer being clipped in.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Well I bought some Shimano's SPD and Shimano shoes...never had a problem...

Could be a muscle imbalance....been doing your lunges and hip exercises.

Tool
    It may be your body and not the bike. Have you seen an orthopedist about the knee pain?

I'm lucky to not have knee pain from cycling, but due to a tight IT band and past injuries, some activities will give me pain in one knee. If I am good about regularly stretching the IT band, life is good. My point is there may be some simple stretches and/or exercise that could make a world of difference for you.