Bull horns or not?- Mtbr.com

Feb 2007

Bull horns or not?

Hey everyone,

I have been coming to this forum for a few years now, but have never posted. I was just wondering what everyone's preference is when it comes to bull horn handlebars? I personally have them on my bike, but I am contemplating taking them off. They only seem to come in handy when climbing a large hill. Just curious as to what everyone else thinks. Thanks.

Nightriding rules SuperModerator
    I guess they went "out of fashion" as barends did... biut if you like them and provide additional hand positions... there is no need to change... I did siwtch from flat+barends to risers a couple years ago...and I think I like risers way better now..

bang
    well, i liked them when i had my huffy sledgehammer! the extra hand positions made riding (or accomodating someone riding on the handlebars) more confortable. these days, i'd be afraid of hooking them onto a small tree or bush as i ride somewhat tight singletrack.

Feb 2007
    They do make riding a little more comfortable in the fact that you can place your hands in different positions, so thats why I tend to like them. Thanks for the replies guys.

Bend, OR
    what are bull horn handlebars?

less is more
    I still like bar ends regardless of what is "in" simply because I like a variety of positions even when riding flat ground.
    Finesse is everything.

Self Appointed Judge&Jury
    Bull horn handelbars are pretty common with the hardcore single speed crowd. They were used years ago by them, and are concidered to many to be the bar of choice still. Do as you feel and what works best for you. Dont change bars because the ones you are using arent concidered to be "in" anymore.

Apr 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by venus1
    I still like bar ends regardless of what is "in" simply because I like a variety of positions even when riding flat ground.
    Amen!

mtbr member
    Dec 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by Weger
    Hey everyone,