Alternative to saddle bags and pockets- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2007

Alternative to saddle bags and pockets

holds tubes, tire levers, and CO2.

www.byeKyle.com

let me know what you think
    [email protected]
    Last edited by kylerodland; 09-16-2008 at 07:14 PM.

mtbr member
    Congratulations, Kyle, you have invented the belt. I'll be following you on the bumpy bits to collect everything that falls out

Kidding aside, what keeps everything from popping loose? The friction from the tube?
    To the troll mobile, away...

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    yeah, the tube helps quite a bit with keeping everything in place, and the simple physics of a cinch strap. it works really well. i've been using it for about two months, did a few races with it, one was a 100 miler and everything stayed in place. it didn't slip on the seatpost at all durring any of my rides or races.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by kylerodland
    yeah, the tube helps quite a bit with keeping everything in place, and the simple physics of a cinch strap. it works really well. i've been using it for about two months, did a few races with it, one was a 100 miler and everything stayed in place. it didn't slip on the seatpost at all durring any of my rides or races.
    The one problem is that you might find it difficult to compete with under saddle 'speed bags'. I have several, and I don't think I've ever paid $7.99 for one because they go on sale. It's hard to compete with Chinese labor costs.

I think you'll need to find a niche- market it to guys to cool for a 'prissy' road bike seat bag, or find some other angle, unless you want to start selling them for two bucks (retail) and see if Performance will pick up the line.
    To the troll mobile, away...

Birdman aka JMJ
    Have to say the same - seat bags are cheap and they keep mud off your gear. REI sells a similar strap for $2. I suppose you could throw everything in a freezer bag and then lash that to your seatpost.