AC separation- Mtbr.com

Thread: AC separation

mtbr member
    Aug 2012

AC separation

Have any of you ever had a AC separation. I recently had a level 4, and I was wondering if any of you had one and can ride without any pain?

Thanks.

banned
    I have had 5 of them so far, but the worst one took a year 1/2 to fully heal. At least both of my shoulders match, both with the end of the bone sticking up.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Suffered a lvl 3 in late june this year. I started riding gentle railtrails, and on the road using the MTB (road bike put a bit too much weight on it) about 3-4 weeks after the injury. Probably could have started riding earlier, but Doc wanted me off the bike for 6 weeks, I figured I'd meet him half way.

I'd say it's about 80-90% recovered. I can still feel some pain with sharp movements. Throwing a ball has been the most painful movement, I can barely put any power into it. As for riding, it's decent, really rocky or rooty trails, or any prolonged stretches that require bump absorption with the body produce a bit of an ache, but nothing unmanageable.
    And I still can't sleep on that shoulder without being uncomfortable, so there is still some healing to be done.

Now, I was lucky with my injury in the sense that it didn't require surgery, and I should be back to 100% for next season.
    2015 Scott Foil Team Issue
    2015 Kona Process 111
    2015 Salsa Mukluk 2

I am employed by a bike shop.

mtbr member
    i had a minor I/II separation in april and even have a little pain here and there still. i can't imagine a IV. check out the rider down/injury section here if you haven't already- you'll be in good company there and learn a lot.
    - 1995 Giant ATX 870
    - 2011 Salsa El Mariachi XL
    - 2011 Kona Unit (singlespeed) XL

mtbr member
    Sep 2008