Seat Tube Angle -- Clear Up Some Confusion...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Seat Tube Angle -- Clear Up Some Confusion...

I was reading up on seat-tube angles, particulary steepish seat tube angles, and it made mention that steep seat-tube angles lead to cramped cock pit conditions (Pinkbike article). https://www.pinkbike.com/news/opinio...be-angles.html

This cramped condition confuses me. Let me explain the way I see it. If the seat angle is steepened, and the ett and HA stays the same, everything just moves forward (headtube, fork). If the rider stands up on the pedals, there is more of the "bike" in front of him.

I know I am a novice, but what am I not seeing that leads to this "cramped cockpit"?
    You cannot go against nature, because when you do, its part of nature too.

pvd
    mtbr member
    Ignore anything you read about bicycles technology on Pinkbike. They are a marketing company.

The position of the saddle relative to the wheels affects the balance of the bike in pitch. The position of the saddle relative to the bottom bracket affects the weight born by the arms when seated.

Most Delicious
    Quote Originally Posted by Ottoreni View Post
    If the seat angle is steepened, and the ett and HA stays the same, everything just moves forward (headtube, fork).
    The assumption is that the ETT does not stay the same, and the fixed value is the frame reach. ETT is pretty meaningless, especially on modern mountain bike designs that don't have straight seat tubes.

mtbr member
    Yes, Now that I am going down this rabbit hole, I am beginning to see that all these bike media companies seem to be preaching more or less the same ice cream.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by dr.welby View Post
    The assumption is that the ETT does not stay the same, and the fixed value is the frame reach. ETT is pretty meaningless, especially on modern mountain bike designs that don't have straight seat tubes.