Question About Carbon Handlebars- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Question About Carbon Handlebars

So first off, I've been lurking for quite a while now. Hopefully this is a good first post to get started on here. Looking forward to being more involved with you guys moving forward! What a valuable resource this forum is.

My question is about custom lugged carbon handlebars. Think like the ones that PVD has been using on his recent builds. With the way the next few bikes I am designing are going, something along those lines does seem like the best solution to the problem. (And I think they look just fantastic. Very nice custom touch.)

But anyway, the root of my question is this. I've never worked with carbon. I'm a long-time welder/fabricator, and machinist. But after reading about the crash PVD had, carbon kinda scares me to be honest. And I by no means treat my bikes 'well' Pisgah, NC is my backyard, so my bikes get 'very well tested' we'll say.

Do you guys have any good resources I can read up on to help make an informed decision on the right weave, wall thickness, other factors I'm ignorant of, etc.? The performance gains are too tempting. I just want to educate myself the best that I can on a good starting point before committing to the risk and money of doing some real world testing.

If this has already been discussed on another thread, My bad. My searching / Google-ing is always a bit lacking. Sometimes you just gotta know the right term to search.

Thanks in advance. I already owe you guys more beers than I'll admit just from lurking around here for a while

mtbr member
    Dec 2006