Making a carbon seatpost, any carbon experts about?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2006

Making a carbon seatpost, any carbon experts about?

Has anybody ever made a carbon seatpost?

I need to make an inline seat clamp to go on this carbon tube (31.7 OD, 2.4mm wall) My initial plan is to make this style of seat clamp, there aren't many parts to it, so I should be able to make it nice and light, and the parts needed i can machine up easily enough.

My question is,, I've seen a few production items like this. Some have a metal collar around the outside, some not. If i get carried away being all weight weenie, how am i to decide if it needs a metal reinforcement or not?

Will boring a hole through my carbon and then sliding a metal rod through it be strong enough? This is my first time doing anything carbon, so I'm a blank canvas at the moment. Any input at all is appreciated.

Edit, for a road bike.

Making a carbon seatpost, any carbon experts about?-img_1238.jpgMaking a carbon seatpost, any carbon experts about?-img_1239.jpg

will rant for food
    Jan 2010
    I'm sort of in a squishy zone between amateur and expert. What I know is that drilling, even with a proper composite dual-flute-direction bit, will lift the layers in very small amounts over a certain radius away from the cutting zone. Careful drilling can make this damage very small.

If it were me? I'd sleeve it as in the second picture.

I have a customer requesting a carbon seatpost, I was going to do the Enve style clamps. You just mold a negative space for the Enve hardware to plug into and away ya go.

I think there's some papers out there from the US Army about drilling carbon in situations where it is strictly unavoidable
    Disclaimer: I run Regular Cycles (as of 2016). As a profiteer of the bicycle industry, I am not to be taken very seriously.

pvd
    mtbr member