mtbr member
    Apr 2017

Homemade full suspension 29er

Hello everyone,

I recently got back into mountain biking after being out of the sport for a couple years. I purchased a used bike at the beginning of last summer and rode as much as possible. Sadly, the chainstay developed a crack at the end of last summer and it is no longer safe to ride. Common problem on Transition Bandits. Being a college student, studying mechanical engineering, makes it difficult to buy a new bike. So, I decided to design and build my own.

This is my first time building a frame and any feedback or tips would be appreciated. After countless hours of researching current bikes the main specifications I decided on are, steel frame construction, single pivot rear suspension with linkage actuated shock, 140mm rear travel (Progressive leverage ratio), 29 wheels, and a modern frame geometry. I designed the bike to run a 160mm fork, but I will need to run my 140 mm fox 34 off my previous bike until I am able to purchase a new fork. The tubing for the fame is from a Nova cycles 29er tubing kit, Paragon Machine works head tube and a 4130 38mm strait gauge down tube. The geometry numbers (with 140mm fork) and the linkage model can be seen below.

Headtube =110mm
    Reach = 480mm
    EFF Top Tube= 635mm
    BB Height= 335mm
    Chainstay Length= 445mm
    Effective seat tube angle = 76.5
    HA= 66
    Homemade full suspension 29er-linkage-image-new.jpg
    After working on the linkage kinematics in Linkage X3 design the frame was modeled in Solidworks. The rear triangle is still not finalized and is incomplete in the rendered images. The linkage is made to look like several wrenches put together, wanted to add something different.
    Homemade full suspension 29er-1.jpgHomemade full suspension 29er-wrench-linkage-3.jpg