Full scale drawing, crankset / chainline info- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2006

Full scale drawing, crankset / chainline info

I've started drawing my new hardtail project out in full scale, I know it's going to be very tight for clearance around the chainstays as they are short.

I'm planning on building it up with SRAM carbon cranks, other than buying them now, and measuring them all up, is it possible to get any dimensions from somewhere online so that i can then draw a plan view? I've never built anything as tight as this before, so have never had the need to draw it out in plan view before.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Full scale drawing, crankset / chainline info-img_0948.jpg  

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Curious what exactly your looking to get from drawing them in the view shown (which is actually an elevation, not a plan view).

Seems that a few circles representing chainrings and end of crank will get you pretty much everything you'll need from that angle; I think I'd be more concerned with side to side clearances to the chainstays, which you'd want to work out from a section of the actual plan (looking down from the top) view, or an aligned view along the plane of the chainstays.

(Or maybe you already know all that and didn't actually mean that the drawing shown was the one you're referring to, in which case I misunderstood )

Anyway, dig around in here (Frame Fit Specifications for SRAM components, with dimensioned drawings):

https://www.servicearchive.sram.com/..._mtb_ffs_0.pdf
    Sinister Bikes
    Wraith Bicycles
    Sunday River Mtn Bike Park
    NEMBA
    Wachusett Brewing Co.

poser Administrator
    Quote Originally Posted by slapheadmofo View Post
    Curious what exactly your looking to get from drawing them in the view shown (which is actually an elevation, not a plan view).