front end geometry Bikepacking- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2018

front end geometry Bikepacking

Im a new frame builder and Ive already tackled my first frame. The first frame I brazed up was an all road bikepacking/touring bike with low trail geometry (35mm). Its great on the road, and ok on the trails.

This summer I'll be brazing up a new frame designed around more modern parts. Im trying to make it as versitile and low mantanance as possible. This time around Im looking to design more of an off road oreantated rigid bikepacking rig. The thing im stuck on is the front end geometry. Ive ridden my low trail bike on some single track and its a little sketch. Ive been reading that 60mm is a common trail number for bikepacking rigs. What head tube angle and fork offset combo is the best? Any help on this?

Sent from my Robin using Tapatalk

Frame Building Moderator
    Typically low trail numbers for touring bikes are intended to fight the sluggish feeling of having a fully loaded front pannier and to combat wheel flop at low speeds (which is again exacerbated by having a loaded front pannier).

If you don't have a front pannier (ie you're using a frame bag, bar bag, seat bag, etc) then you should just do whatever trail number you usually prefer for the most technical terrain you plan to ride. Generally speaking carrying big loads on the front axle is always going to be bad for trail riding no matter what the trail number is, though. So if you can avoid putting lots of heavy stuff on the front fork/axle that will help a lot.

Hope that helps!

-Walt

Most Delicious