DRILLING HOLES in 22 YR OLD CANNONDALE FRAME- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2011

DRILLING HOLES in 22 YR OLD CANNONDALE FRAME

I know this might seem like a cardinal sin, but someone out there has surely thought about and figured out a way to do this !!!

I am putting Cable Discs F&R which require full length Cables on my old commuter... The Front was taken care of with a Carbon Fork. The rear however is a little more challenging.

I am fabricating a mount with out any holes in the Left Chain Stay. I want to enter and exit the Top Tube and Seat Tube on the way back to the rear caliper.

I can drill on top of the two Factory Stops on the Top Tube - but the Seat Tube has no Stops to drill on top of...

I am a welder and fiberglass fabricator and have worked on Sailboat Masts for 40 years. The Aluminum we use is 6061 T6. And after 30 - 40 years - it gets harder than T6.

I know 90's Cannondales are much thinner wall Type 7000 aluminum and heat treated - and Tig Welding is not recommended on a Heat Treated Cannondale Frame - (too much Heat).

In my industry we drill a hole at an angle and insert a slightly smaller diameter hardened steel tool pushing down and opening up the hole so it has a hooded shape inside and out side.

If the Cannondale Tubing is thought to be to hard or too thick in the Top Tube where the two Stops are - a few seconds of a torch could anneal an area the size of a dime and the tubing/stop would move quite easily. I plan on a repaint job when all mods are finished...

A reinforced entrance guide/tube could be fabricated in Aluminum or Carbon Fiber and epoxied on top of the opening - helping to offset any weakening of the area...

Been looking for Bike Tube InLet Fittings - but everything is plastic out of China:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Road-Bike-S...97.m4902.l9144

Any Tube/Entrance Fittings - in the US ?

Surely there will be some comments ?

mtbr member
    Jun 2015