Custom frame advice- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2008

Custom frame advice

I designed a custom 27,5 plus frame to improve on my current HT and FS bikes based on my 2 year experience on long FC center frames and borrowing from PVD and recent threads in this forum.

I have no experience in frame design and building, would you advise on my design and tell me if it's even doable, especially regarding chainstay length and tire clearance (ideally 410 stays with space for 27.5 3" tires and clearance for 32t chainring) and stack vs FC?

My 2 bikes are a SM 2018 Orbea Rallon 29er FS bike and an M 2016 Mondraker RR+ 27.5+ hardtail.

I ride both bikes in the same places for trail\enduro type of stuff on medium\long loops with a good amount of pedaling and traversing in between ST and dh sections; I like the superior traction\speed they offer.

The new frame would be used for the same purpose and I would like to get a geo\fit better suited to my dimensions, I'm 1.65 mt tall with a 75 cm inseam, currently fit being a compromise especially on the Mondraker; the new frame would have to have a reach in between my current bikes (I feel too stretched on the Mondraker with the saddle all the way forward and kind of cramped on the Rallon) while affording a lower stack, a slacker seat angle and possibly a longer FC (for even higher speeds) and shorter chainstays for ease of unweighting the front end.

Here are the prints I made at the best of my ability with the free version of bike cad, actual stem dimensions are shown; the Rallon is a FS and the numbers are shown unsagged, but the front and rear should compensate each other; both the Mondraker and the custom frame are shown sagged, some numbers are off by a few mm on the Mondraker (HT AND REACH) because the actual frame is hydroformed alu and it's curved at the top, but it should give a pretty close idea of my setups.

thanks

custom frame with 10mm 35 degrees stoic stem
    Custom frame advice-custom10.png