Carbon Fiber Full Suspension Front Triangle- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2018

Carbon Fiber Full Suspension Front Triangle

Sup guys and gals, long time lurker coming out of the shadows.
    I'm a mechanical engineer and MTB rider/framebuilder since the late '90s.
    Finally signed up today to share a project I've been working on.

I had come here several times for ideas, answers, and inspiration.
    So hopefully the "work" I've done can be helpful to someone.
    The project blog is at Carbon Fiber Mountain Bike Frame Construction
    A few photos from the project are posted below.

I set out to build a carbon fiber composite front triangle to replace the aluminum front triangle in my full suspension Rocky Mountain Element. Basically, the construction was:
    1. Measure the existing frame to duplicate suspension pivots and component clearances.
    2. Design the replacement frame and fixtures in SolidWorks.
    3. 3D print clamshell plugs segmented to my printer size
    4. Vacuum bag wet carbon over the plugs
    5. Remove the clamshells and assemble into the alignment fixture
    6. Bond and reinforce the clamshell construction
    7. Wet layup [multiple] over the hollow clamshell construction using an elastic band compression.
    8. Finish (working on it now)

The blog is more of a photo bank and stream of consciousness dump.
    Not a complete step by step instruction manual.
    Any input on clarity or readability is welcomed and appreciated.
    I need to make chronological reading more obvious (like episode numbers?).

Anyways, I put a couple images below.
    Check out the project HERE, and lemme know what you think.

Thanks and cheers!

Carbon Fiber Full Suspension Front Triangle-frame-design.jpgCarbon Fiber Full Suspension Front Triangle-20171010_192831.jpgCarbon Fiber Full Suspension Front Triangle-20171105_143540.jpgCarbon Fiber Full Suspension Front Triangle-20180107_143756.jpgCarbon Fiber Full Suspension Front Triangle-20171227_183601.jpg