Building first frame (fillet brazed)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2018

Building first frame (fillet brazed)

Hi All,

Just thought I'd run my plans past a more experienced group so that I go into this project with more know-how.

My friend has a State Bicycles Trooper 4.0 fixie that he uses as his commuter in Berkeley (CA). It has drop bars and track bike geometry (size 52cm) with a flip-flop hub and horizontal dropouts. The bottom bracket and head tube are threaded.
    Geometry here: https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/02...hart-fixed.png

I am a mechanical engineer student with an automotive background and have recently gotten a milling machine and oxy acetylene setup in my home garage, and my coworker has a professional-grade frame jig that he is willing to lend me. I have never built a bike frame but I do have some experience with fabrication.
    The plan is to swap all of the components from my friend's bike (including fork) onto a new frame designed and built by me. The only significant departure from their design is to include an integrated seatpost-- i.e. one size fits one.

We are planning to copy the geometry of his bike, but use 4130 tubing and brass (bronze???) fillet braze the joints. He is an occasional road/crit racer but being that this is his commuter, frame sturdiness should be paramount to ride/handling/weight.

It would be great to get a nice step by step process of what to do- the best I have found so far is this:
    Wold Cycles
    This is more of an overview, so it would be nice to get a bit more detailed- for example how much of a gap should I leave between the mitered tube and the tube it is going to be brazed to?

I want to build this frame to practice my fabrication skills and try something new, so I aim to keep the cost low and design simple.