Build Help. 04 Rocky Mountain Slayer- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2019

Build Help. 04 Rocky Mountain Slayer

I recently got a 2004 Rocky Mountain Slayer 30 for free. It was going to be scrap, so i took it. It was upgraded with 2005-07 Fox F100RL (I'm not 100% sure what year, but its somewhere around there.) & Fox Float R shocks, but that was a long time ago. It needs basically new everything, but I think the shocks can be rebuilt. There's no frame rust or cracks, the bike was just like... Not serviced or taken care of for years. Dirty as heck & some rusty replaceable bolts & screws.

To be ride able, It needs:
    Rear derailleur
    Shifters work, but need replaced(old Shimano Deore) I can throw them back on if needed they don't look good, but shift buttery smooth.
    Brakes
    26" Rims & tires
    Petals
    Rebuilt Shocks
    Seat
    Fork bearings (the ones inside the frame to help the fork turn, I don't know what they are called.)

I am fairly new to riding & I don't have a huge budget, ~$300. but I want to get into trail / enduro riding. If i do it, it'll be my first build & I don't have any friends that ride or could help me out with it, so I'm on my own with it. The Slayer is like... Half the weight of my current bike. Do you think it would be worth it, or should I stick with my HEAVY 2014 Giant Talon 5?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Build Help. 04 Rocky Mountain Slayer-rm-slayer2019.jpg  

Last edited by TrailWoof; 07-16-2019 at 12:33 PM. Reason: Adding a photo

I ncredibly
    M yopic
    B ackstabbing
    A ssholes

mtbr member
    Jul 2019
    xD They have about as much experience as i do, basically none. but I called them a few names for not knowing more than I do. lol

mtbr member
    Dec 2017