BikeCAD vs traditional AutoCAD- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

BikeCAD vs traditional AutoCAD

I have a degree in, and am a designer by trade (power plant piping specifically) so I am very familiar with CAD software. I have full access to basically every Autodesk software at work, free of charge (obviously).

I was curious if BikeCAD offers anything beneficial that I would be missing out on if I were to just design my frames in 3D AutoCAD and dimension/plot them like normal.

I know you can check compliance with racing organizations and such with BikeCAD, but I am really not interested in that kind of stuff (though it is neat!).

Cycologist
    I haven't used it, nor have I built any frames, but as a CAD user I'm curious. The website says it is free so why not give it a try? I'm guessing there is a charge for the Pro version but the free one should give you some idea.

Just guessing but I would imagine it gives you a good starting point on a bike frame whereas AutoCAD you would be starting from scratch unless you can find someone to share a file. I would check to see if it has dwg export capabilities.

Good luck!
    Quote Originally Posted by Oh My Sack! View Post
    Remember, there's always quilting and knitting if pedalling becomes too tough.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by chazpat View Post
    I haven't used it, nor have I built any frames, but as a CAD user I'm curious. The website says it is free so why not give it a try? I'm guessing there is a charge for the Pro version but the free one should give you some idea.

Just guessing but I would imagine it gives you a good starting point on a bike frame whereas AutoCAD you would be starting from scratch unless you can find someone to share a file. I would check to see if it has dwg export capabilities.

Good luck!