Where ya comin' from?- Mtbr.com
    This place needs an enema

Where ya comin' from?

Spend any time reading through this sub-forum and you'll come across a wide variety of uses for these here capable machines. Many folks use them on snow, some on sand/beaches, others on gravel or even singletrack.

That can be confusing because there are heaps of experienced riders all willing to offer their advice on what the best ___ is for any given application. Without knowing their background, terrain, experience, and preferences, it's hard to know if their advice is applicable to you. I've seen great advice given but ultimately totally misused--not on purpose, but because neither party understood where the other was coming from.

Hence the point of this thread--please chime in to share with folks whatever it is that you think they need to know about where you're coming from. Ultimately I think this ought be stickified for quick reference.

I've been riding on snow for 20+ years and on fat-tired bikes since '98. My main use is winter over-snow travel, meaning snowmachine, dogsled, and (occasionally) snowshoe trails. My local trails get roughly 30 feet of snow a year, thus it is rare for them to set up well before another dump smothers them. Even with the fattest rims and tires currently available, often run at ~2psi, I still end up walking a fair bit to get where I need to go. Thus I come from the perspective that more flotation (wider rims and tires, deeper tread blocks, lower pressures) is always a benefit.

I've done a few beach trips and narrower rims/tires seem to work very well there, though I'm far from an expert as my experience is just too limited.

What else? Though I've tried many times and many ways, I don't see a benefit to fat tires on hard surfaces. I find that pretty much any mtb works better there, for less $, and with less weight.

Lastly? I'm a terrible dancer and can't hold a tune--not even in a bucket.