What winter riding gear do you rate or hate? Newbie advice needed- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2019

What winter riding gear do you rate or hate? Newbie advice needed

Hey all!

So Iím coming into the world of fat biking as a complete novice and this will be my first winter sport so have no experience when it comes to the clothing gear. I have been doing a load of research as Iím a very sweaty person who tends to run hot. To this point I understand quality base layers merino wool would be wise for me to invest in.

Where Iím having a dilemma is the price differences between brand name gear e.g. Fox racing, MEC, Patagonia, 45NRTH etc and some no name brands on Amazon namely Rockbros. Iím struggling to see a difference in the quality of the products. Iím not against spending money on quality but Iím not all about brand names and honestly the cheaper products seem to have better features at 1/5 of the price..

Additionally Iím based in Ottawa, Canada so expect to be heading out in -20c conditions.

It might be good to try the cheaper gear before investing more down the road but Iíd rather ask some people with experience and maybe youíve tried some of their products? I have used the Rockbros bike rack and love it so quite tempting to give it a shot.

Links for context
    Fox
    https://foxracing.ca/flexair-pro-fir...066-001-L.html

45NRTH - seems unavailable but looks like an awesome jacket for ventilation
    https://45nrth.com/products/naughtvind-jacket

Rockbros
    ROCKBROS Winter Cycling Jacket Warm Men's Windproof Thermal Coat Softshell Black Red XL https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B077ZJM356/..._0.7GDbAWZY1DV

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Don't over think it or buy into all the marketing. Not just yet, anyway.

I've been riding in the winter for well over two decades. Not a lot of "snow" gear back then. I just rode in a long-sleeve jersey, wool sweater (random one from the closet), and a lightweight shell. Some combo of those three worked for me.